Organizing Hair Accessories

I don’t own a lot of hair accessories, really, since a) my hair is very thin and unwilling to be styled in any notable way, and b) I’m mostly too lazy to do much with my hair anyway.

However, part of this laziness was that I had no proper way of storing my hair accessories and they were always hidden away in some bag in a drawer. Out of sight, out of mind, isn’t that what they say?

The frustration with my storage method—or rather lack thereof—grew so strong in March that I set out to find a better way.

After googling a little bit for ideas, I came to the conclusion that hanging it to the inside of my wardrobe door was the best solution. And so I spontaneously set out to sew something appropriate.

And here is how I made it:

I had some strips of black fabric lying around, left over from an earlier sewing project. Then I distributed my accessories on there and thought about what I needed: a few pockets, some stuff can be clipped to the sides.

Cut out one long strip of fabric and some smaller stripes for the pockets. Then fix the pocket stripes to the long strip where you want them, either with fixing pins or quilting clips.

To make the edges look nice, and to prevent the fabric from unravelling, sew a colorful ribbon around your work and over the pocket openings. Well, of course the pocket openings should go first. I just love this pink! Fix and then sew everything together.

At the end, I added a piece of ribbon as a hanger.

I attached a plastic hook (which you can buy for the bathroom) to the inside of my wardrobe door. The good thing about these hooks is that they come with a strong double sided adhesive strip that you can attach them with without having to drill holes.

Then just put your accessories in as you want them – et voilà! Everything is stored away neatly, easy to grab in the morning and easy to put back later during the day. Everything has its dedicated space, so no long time of looking for anything.

I’ve been using it for a couple of weeks now and I’m really happy with it. 🙂

Categories: Sewing | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell me what you think ...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

