My Creative Month – May 2015

Living a creative life for me means to keep challenging myself by regularly trying out new things and soon leaving the beaten path. It doesn’t matter if the result is perfect or not or whether it is small or big things.

Little things like trying out a new technique for your hobby or bigger things like starting a new hobby altogether all have the potential to make you happy. Dare to be yourself and have fun with what you do.

I too have to keep telling myself that because daily life too quickly puts you into other people’s routines. Sure, we’re not alone on this planet and there are things that just need to be done. But we should make sure to cut out enough time for ourselves.

Okay, doing new things all the time is also not good. Permanently living outside our comfort zone produces stress. We need days where we feel comfortable in doing what we already know. But I try to make sure I do something new every month, even if it is just trying out a new recipe or reorganizing my supplies.

Taming the Chaos, cont.

Even though, sadly, spring is still not quite here yet (May feels more like a particularly cold and rainy April around where I live), there is no way getting around spring cleaning. And it does feel good to get rid of old and useless stuff that you just couldn’t get yourself to throw away so far.

I’m currently going through all my old school notes and throwing 99.9% away. I haven’t so much as looked at any of this for the past 10 years or longer, so I definitely don’t need it.

I don’t want to go into the topic of education right now, but I do find it amazing how little of that stuff I’ve ever needed in my life! An utter waste of time.

Blogger’s Success Journal

I’ve become quite fond of these monthly wrap-ups because I mostly start out thinking: Gosh, what should I write this  month? I didn’t really do that much!

But once I get started so much more comes to my mind than I’d’ve ever thought. It is so good to see that you are being creative and that you do get things done, finish projects or at least make progress with them, or simply realize that you do have some creativity in your every-day life.

It’s a little bit like writing a success journal as many time and self-management coaches advise you to do. It gives you such a good feeling to realize what you accomplished, even if it is ‘just’ small things.

Photo Books

I’m quite into photo books again at the moment. I finished one with a format I’ve never used before—A5 panorama—and started another one that could be a larger project, but I’m looking forward to it.

I learned a lot about photo book making and layout in the last couple of years but still I feel like I’m just at the beginning and there is so much yet to learn.

If you’re interested in making your own photo books, check out my 10 Tips to get you started

Pictures, Pictures, Pictures

Due to the lack of pictures for the past year, I took plenty this month. Some days were indeed quite nice and lended themselves for trips.

carnivalpicturesflowerpictures

Tortilla Wraps

My new recipe that I tried out this month were Tortilla Wraps. I’d never made this myself but was sure it would be a nice addition to our recipe book. And indeed I was right, they were so delicious!

Making the dough from scratch can be a bit challenging because the wraps have to be quite thin and you have to work out the right consistency before frying, but the rest is easy peasy.

Just mix a few things that you like and wrap them in there. If you like, then throw some Mexican sauce on your wraps and gratinate the whole thing with cheese. Gives it that little extra. 🙂

Layouting Posters at Work

My work life has also been a little creative this month for I finally got around to design some posters and a flyer for my department. I haven’t been able to work with InDesign yet, but for simpler posters a solid picture editing program and some good text editor work just as well.

And seriously, text editors can do A LOT now. They aren’t ideal, but you can do some pretty awesome stuff with them.

Inspirational Quote of the Month

When I created my Blogger’s Notebook, I included inspirational writing quotes for each month. The motto for May:

Your inspiration knows what to write, so get out of the way. (Ray Bradbury)

Love that one! I should look at the quotes more often. When I do I find them really helpful. And this one is so true.

Categories: Creativity | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell me what you think ...

Blog at WordPress.com.

