Spring Craft Ideas

After only having some time on longish bus rides to look at other people’s spring crafts last month, I finally got around making some of my own. I started out adapting two ideas that I found on the net but very soon started making my own stuff. Paper craft is a brilliant creative outlet!

Since I sucked so much at everything art in school, I didn’t expect much but they really turned out so cute! Just goes to show how the way we do in certain school subjects tells us nothing. But don’t get me started on education again, ๐Ÿ˜‰ today is about fun paper craft…

I used a circle cutter for all these projects (for the first time since I only got mine while Easter shopping), which I highly recommend. If you want to make perfect circles every single time, that’s the tool! They aren’t that expensive and they are totally worth the money…

I used several colors of 135 grams paper, which I found very suitable, but of course you can use thicker paper if you like. For these projects you’ll need one of each of these colors: red, green, yellow, black, and white.

Ladybug

Since I liked the ladybug craft so much, I started out with the cutest paper ladybug ever. As I was thinking about a garland, I went with a much smaller red circle instead of a paper plate.

The rest I then just drew myself and cut out with scissors.

Make sure that if you have two pieces that are alike, to make one and then use the other as a template so they will look symmetrical.

The small circles I made by tracing the cap of a pen.

Sheep

The minute I saw this Recycled CD Spring Lamb, I fell in love with it. It’s so cute!

I didn’t have an old CD and didn’t want to use one since I wanted my projects to have about the same size (garland, remember?), so I did the same circle I used for the ladybug againโ€”this time in white. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Use a black pen to draw curls on it.

The legs are very simple, just make sure that they both have the same size. I had some problems with the ears since I didn’t want them as pointy as they were in the tutorial. Once you’ve figured out your shape, I highly recommend using one as a template for the other so they both look the same.

I didn’t have googly eyes in this size, so I went for paper. Also cute.

The teacher of the cake pop workshop I participated in gave us a tip that if you make something with eyes, try to have the pupils look slightly upwards in one direction. It’s supposed to make it look cuter because it isn’t staring. I found this is not only true for cake pops but also for paper craft. ๐Ÿ™‚

And there you go:

Smiling Sun

Another circle of the same sizeโ€”this time in yellow.

Cut out sunbeams of roughly the same size. I used six and placed them at the same distance. If you like, you can make more, or place ones in a different color (e.g. orange or red) between the yellow ones.

Add a smile (I made that one with black paper) and draw eyes with a pen. If you like, the sun can of course also have sun glasses on. ๐Ÿ˜Ž

Frog

This frog was inspired by a frog image that I found online. I adapted it to my requirements and outlined my own templates. Since I put so much effort into drawing the pieces, I decided to make my own template in case I ever want to make that frog again: Eyes, legs, tongue …

The pupils and mouth I once again drew with a black pen.

Isn’t he adorable? ๐Ÿ™‚

To be continued…

This is so much fun! I’ll for sure make a couple more. I already have a hedgehog, a butterfly, and a bunny in mind… ๐Ÿ™‚

Categories: Bookbinding and Papercraft, Creativity | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell me what you think ...

Blog at WordPress.com.

