A New Creative Year 2015

In the past, I mostly had quite concrete—and probably way too many—resolutions for the upcoming year. Do more of this and less of that. Get that and that project finished …

I hardly ever did manage to fulfill any of them.

This year, I have only one main goal: I want to be more creative in 2015.

The one thing I regret the most about how my life has developed in the past two years (where I started working full-time and having my own household) is that I haven’t been able to dedicate enough time to my creative projects. Either I’m too busy or too tired—or both.

I’m a very creative person at heart, and I need to be creative as much as I need oxygen and water. Not being creative for too long a time makes me feel unhappy about myself and about the world in general.

Therefore, my goal for the new year is to dedicate more time to creative projects. No matter what, as long as it is creative. I’d like to finish a few, of course. 😉

Here are a few more concrete ideas what I’m striving for—subject to change without prior notice. 😉 I have so many ideas and plans and goals. The thing is, I need to be realistic. I actually do have very little time at my hands, but I’m determined to make more out of it.

  • Concerning my blog: I made a resolution in June to post 2 posts a month, and so far, that has worked (well, except for October, but I made up for that in November 😉 ). I want to keep this up in 2015.
  • To organize my (creative) life better: Creatively, I’m still kind of living out of packing cases more or less shoved into shelf units. Apart from actually being creative, I need to organize my creative tools and materials in a way that when I do want to work on something, I can just go to its place and grab it. I’m working on it … The hardest part is that organizing entails throwing stuff out that I don’t need anymore.
  • Finishing creative projects: The most frustrating thing about how I have been creative in these past two years is that I’ve been working on too many projects at the same time and, as a result, have hardly finished any of them. I’d like to change that with a little more focus. Knowing myself as a kind of Jack of all trades, I know that I actually need the freedom to hop between projects, but striving for a little more focus can’t hurt.
  • Less perfectionism: Another thing always in the way of finishing projects is my perfectionism. I spend way too much time working on one thing. This needs to change as well. I’m not one for sloppy work, and never will be, but I have to accept that the Pareto principle is true:  “for many events, roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes.” (Wikipedia) (I got this from Thomas Mangold’s great podcast on time management: Effizienter Lernen – Arbeiten – Leben (Episode 002: Eliminieren, der erste Schritt zu mehr Produktivität)) Meaning: When I put 20% of work into a creative project, I get a result that is 80% good. The remaining 80% of work are hardly worth the 20% to a perfect product. I know myself well enough to realize that I’ll never give just 20%, but maybe I could go for a healthier and more effective 40-50% with a roughly 90% good result?
  • The things that have come short in the past two years are: knitting, fiction writing, DIY projects. I’d like to do a little more of that in the next year again.
  • I’d like to participate in at least one “30 day challenge” next year. This is going to be hard for me because it is mostly the weekend where I can actually do stuff, but I’ve been wanting to do that for such a long time so I guess I should at least try it once.

Whichever of those goals I manage to reach, the important thing is that I can be creative. And that I can relax more and let go. I’m often not in the mood for creative projects because I cannot stop thinking about stuff at work or about problems in my private life. I have to let go somewhat more and learn to relax again. Then creativity will probably come by itself. 🙂

Categories: Creativity | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell me what you think ...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

