Liebster Award

My blog was nominated for the Liebster Award by charcoalblue on Monday. Thanks again! 🙂 I really like your blog as well. I wish I could draw 1/4 as good as you! Really cool.

My first reaction to the nomination was: Cool! The second was: Liebster Award? What’s that?

Liebster Award

Since I’m quite new to blogging still, I’d never heard of it. Here’s what I found out:

The Liebster Award

Little can be said about the actual origin of this award. I googled it and found that Sopphey had already done all the work for me. 😉 Thanks for the post! You really saved me hours of googling. 😉

Gist is: It is some kind of chain post. There seem to be various versions of it out there, but they all boil down to: You get nominated by bloggers who just got nominated themselves. You create a post where you write about it, do what you are asked to do (e.g. answer some questions) and then in turn nominate other bloggers. This way it goes on and on.

That’s it. No official website, no judges etc. I like how Sopphey puts it: It is what you want it to be. It is a big compliment that someone liked your blog enough to nominate you, though. 🙂

The version I received says:

1. Tell 11 things about yourself

2. Answer the questions the nominator set for you

3. Create 11 questions for the people you’re nominating

4. Nominate 11 bloggers with less than 200 followers

I like the idea of the Liebster Award since it is about getting to know your fellow bloggers. 🙂 So, despite my general aversion to chain mail—and because of it—I decided to meet the first three parts of the challenge but not to pass it on. Or rather, to pass it on in a different way: I’m turning it into a writing challenge. So, if you read this and feel inspired by the questions, 😉 just go ahead and create a post answering them. You could nominate other blogs you enjoy reading if you like and ask them questions as well.

Here’s my contribution …

1. Tell 11 things about yourself

(1) I like sunny weekends because then I can go picnicking or take walks with my boyfriend or sit outside and read/knit.

(2) I love teaching. I taught some English and literature classes during my studies and really enjoyed it.

(3) I’d really like to be able to paint and draw, but have no talent whatsoever. I’m serious. If I need a stick figure for something, I go to google picture.

(4) I hate public transport because it is always late, often crowded, and sometimes very unpleasant.

(5) I have a lot of ideas for novels in me. One day I’m going to finish one. I hope.

(6) I find it really difficult to think of things to say about myself. 😉

(7) I like movies/books about artificial intelligence because they often raise the philosophical question: What does it mean to be human? When is a machine no longer just a machine but has become something more? I even wrote a term paper about the topic during my studies. That was really interesting.

(8) My professors told me that I had real talent to write about popular media as if they were world literature and get away with it. 😉

(9) I love everything creative and find that writing and researching about the topic is very good for my own creativity.

(10) I could shop endlessly for baking stuff. Especially making pizza from scratch and decorating cupcakes have recently captivated my attention. Only I neither have enough room to store nor enough money to buy too many baking utensils.

(11) I might be a bit old-fashioned, but I like it if people are kind and have good manners. I don’t like ruthless, rude, or selfish people.

2. Answer the questions the nominator set for you

1. What is a fond childhood memory?

Playing with my friends in kindergarten. That was always fun! 😉

2. Your favourite movie?

Definitely 10 Things I Hate About You starring Julia Stiles and Legally Blonde starring Reese Witherspoon. Both have really smart, intelligent, and likeable female characters that I identified with as a young girl.

I also have a soft spot for Men In Black and the 1980s Not Quite Human series, though. Great movies, all of them!

3. If you could do/be anything – what would it be?

I’d be a teacher in adult education with my own little school. My curriculum would include: English as a second language, creative writing, layouting with MS Office, knitting and baking. 😉

4. Most common item you buy that is under $10.00

Gosh, I really don’t know. I guess snacks I buy for lunch during my break.

5. Something that annoys you

I like to keep my desk at work orderly and I hate it when on busy days it gets all cluttered and I don’t know where to put things anymore.

6. Something that gives you pleasure

Spending time with family and friends, blogging, relaxing on the porch, my zillion hobbies …

7. Find your self daydreaming about ….

… the beach. I love the beach, but there aren’t any where I live. 😦

8. Where do you get your ideas for your posts?

Since I mainly wrote about creativity so far, I just thought about what details would be interesting. More comes to mind than I can possibly write about. But ask me again when I’ve been blogging for a couple of years. 😉

Usually ideas just come to me in my daily life: things I observe or think about, topics I read about, creative stuff I like doing that I’d like to share…

9. Which do you enjoy most, pondering the possibilities or narrowing down the options?

I seem to love pondering since that’s what I do all the time. 😉

10. Favourite novel

I don’t have one particular favorite novel, but I love to read and usually end up with detective fiction, sci-fi, and vampire stories (but rather the classic ones, e.g. Bram Stoker, not what nowadays calls itself vampire story).

11. Advice for a mum who will one day have 3 teenage sons – at the same time?

I don’t have kids so I’m probably not the ideal girl to ask. But I always believed that if parents were good role models for their children they can’t go too wrong. And with three boys, I guess you will need a good deal of patience.

3. Create 11 questions for the people you’re nominating

1. What famous person was a role model for you when you were young and why?

2. What was your very first blog post about?

3. Do you prefer watching movies or TV series?

4. Why do you blog?

5. In what fields do you like to be creative?

6. If you could be anywhere in this galaxy, where would you be?

7. What was the worst movie you ever saw and then wish you hadn’t?

8. Did you ever have a good teacher who inspired you? If yes, how did he/she do that?

9. What’s your favorite type of ice cream?

10. How many times do you read a draft before you hit “Publish”?

11. Name a quote that you like and say how it impacted you.

A good weekend to everyone! Maybe some of you will find the time to meet this writing challenge and link their posts here. 🙂

Categories: Blogging | Tags: , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. charcoalblue

    What wonderful answers, it was great getting to know you more. Thanks for taking the time to complete them.

  2. My pleasure! It was fun. 🙂 I’ll make sure to check out your posts on creativity as well.

Tell me what you think ...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

