At long last …

And again several days have passed since my last post. Aside from some trouble with my internet provider, the main reason is that it still takes me too long to write them. Here are three more lessons learned…

Lesson #11:

Even topics that sound short because they are just one tiny aspect of a much larger topic are not short!

I often find that I choose a topic and think, well, that can’t be so much. Like for my upcoming post I chose the creativity technique ‘brainstorming.’ Stay tuned, it can only be ages now. 🙂 But when I start collecting ideas and researching the topic, I find that there is actually much more to say about it than I previously realized. So …

Lesson #12:

Try to split even small topics into smaller units!

So far, I still have difficulty to do so because I think: Hmm, if I start talking about what brainstorming is, I also have to say how it works and go into detail about group and individual brainstorming etc. I’m afraid I’d miss something if I don’t have the chance to rearrange the individual parts while I’m still working on it. That is nonsense, of course. I cannot write about every aspect in one post anyway. Still, once I’m in a position to tell where I could split, I see the article as one unit already in my head and find it extremely difficult to just stop somewhere. But I guess that is what we have to do.

Lesson #13:

Try to get more routine into your writing so that you write (i.e. publish) faster.

I find that I’m still way too slow in writing because a) I’m not used to write for instant publishing, and b) because I have the unrealistic ambition to get everything perfect before hitting the ‘Publish’ button. I keep looking for passages that might be better phrased or shorter. And that takes time:

“I didn’t have time to write a short letter. So I wrote a long one instead.” (Mark Twain)

“When something can be read without effort, great effort has gone into its writing.” (Enrique Jardiel Poncela)

I agree with those two. But someday our writing has to be published at long last. So maybe practice and routine will help here. I hope. 😉

Categories: Blogging | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Tell me what you think ...

Blog at WordPress.com.

